170×170 day 164 11.10.15

When I first saw fireflies I thought that they were truly fairies with lanterns, or at least some very beautiful creature like butterfly or dragonfly. Then of course I caught one and was quite disappointed to see the brown bug in the morning.

But after the initial disappointment the love returned. I still remember when I first went to Kamalpur, I was very little and there was no electricity in Kamalpur, and the bamboo groves were filled with fireflies. I have never seen so many fireflies together they actually gave those groves a faint light.

I remember asking my father what they were.

The strange thing is when I returned there in 1985 electricity was not there till then but the fireflies were gone. There were some but not that many.

Maybe because the river dried up or it might have rained excessive that year or pollution! I still love those illuminant bugs! There is something full of hope with those specs of light as they fly around in night darkness.

Published by

sharmishtha basu

Published author in amazon looking for literary agents and publishers, feel free to contact me @sharmishthabasu@Hotmail.com or sermistabasu@gmail.com. Creative editor of two Ezines Agnishatdal and Agnijaat- check them out here agnishatdalezine.wordpress.com and agnijaat.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “170×170 day 164 11.10.15”

Thanks for reading and commenting, dont forget to leave your blog url. Have a wonderful day!

